Intermag 2020 is cancelled due to COVID-19.

Best Student Presentation Award

The IEEE Magnetics Society Best Student Presentation Award recognizes and encourages excellence in graduate studies in the field of magnetism. There will be a US$1,500 prize and certificate for the winner and US$250  prize and certificate for the remaining finalists. Conference attendees are encouraged to attend the talks and support these young scientists.

Congratulations to the Intermag 2020 Finalists!

Maxwell Li, Carnegie Mellon University
AB-02. In situ Lorentz microscopy study of domain wall Skyrmions

Shishun Zhao, Xi'an Jiaotong University
AC-05. Ionic Liquid Gating Control Interfacial Magnetism

Mara Strungaru, University of York
BE-02. Simulations of magnetic relaxation using atomistic spin-lattice dynamics

Niranjan Natekar, University of Minnesota
BG-01. Analysis of Adjacent Track Erasure for HAMR Media 

Viola Krizakova, ETH Zurich
CB-01. Field-free spin-orbit torque switching in magnetic tunnel junctions at sub-ns timescales


  • The nominee must be a full time graduate student expecting to graduate within one year of the Conference. Postdoctoral fellows, undergraduates or non-students are not eligible.
  • The student's area of research may either be theoretical or experimental in any of the general technical and scientific areas normally presented as part of the Conference.
  • The student's regularly submitted digest must have been accepted as an oral presentation through the standard digest review process by the Conference Program Committee as an oral presentation, and the student must present the work at the Conference.
  • Preference will be given to students and their advisors who are current members of the IEEE Magnetics Society. 
  • Up to five finalists will be selected based on the accepted digests and the supplementary information. 

Application Procedure

  • Students must submit a digest to the Conference according to the standard submission guidelines and deadlines as outlined under Digest Submissions. DO NOT identify the digest as part of the student award competition in the text of the digest. The Conference digest submission deadline is January 13, 2020.
  • Students should select "Apply" under Awards in Step 3 of the submission process.  You must include the following supplemental information:
    (1) PhD candidacy, the expected graduation date, IEEE member number, advisor name, advisor IEEE member number;
    (2) a one-page description of the motivation for the research, the significance of the research results, and the applicant's contribution to the work being presented;
    (3) a letter of support from the student's advisor.

Congratulations to the winner and finalists at the 2019 Joint MMM-Intermag Conference!


Zhuyun Xiao, University of California, Los Angeles
CE-03. Single Domain Magnetoelastic Terfenol-D Microdisks for Particle and Cell Manipulation


Kresna B. Fathoni, National Institute for Materials Science and University of Tsukuba
AG-11. Large MR Ratio by Using Metastable bcc-Cu Spacer Layer in Epitaxial Current In-Plane Giant Magnetoresistance Devices

William Legrand, Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales, Univ. Paris-Sud
BC-01. Controlling the Profile, Stability and Dynamics of Chiral Hybrid Skyrmions

Rahul Mishra, National University of Singapore
CB-09. Electric-field Control of Spin Accumulation Direction in a Spin-orbit Torque Device

Niklas Roschewsky, UC Berkeley
AB-07. Spin-Orbit Torque and Nernst Effects in BixSb1-x/Ferromagnet Heterostructures